Day 35 – What’s for Dinner?

I lost another 2 pounds over the weekend, bringing my weight down to 168. That’s 21 lbs lost so far! To celebrate I decided I would share my favorite dinner recipe that I have been eating almost every night since I started my diet.

Salmon with Wild Rice and Broccoli.

Step 1 – Get your your favorite skillet. Put it on a low-medium heat, add enough olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan with a thin layer, then add about 1 tbsp minced garlic, a few dashes of pepper, and some Italian spices (oregano, thyme, basil, rosemary. I just use a premixed spice from the store) as well as 1 chopped scallion and a chopped slice of red/white onion. Let that simmer for a couple minutes to flavor the oil. If your minced items begin to brown, lower your heat a bit.

Step 2 – Add the Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon filet and spoon some of the oil mix on top of it to coat. Finely chop up 1/4 of a tomato, peeled and deseeded, and sprinkle it around the side. I also like to throw in a few spears of asparagus if I have some. Hug them right against the sides of the fillet for amazing flavor! I also like to take the skin of the tomato and place it on top of the fillet as well as a squeeze of lemon. Feel free to add whatever other fresh ingredients you might have. I like using freshly chopped cilantro for a unique flavor boost, and chopped parsley to add some natural cleansing freshness (it helps with that fish breath!)

Step 3 – let the fillet cook for about 10 minutes on the low heat, covered. Once it’s cook through turn the heat down, probably to it’s lowest point will do, and add the precooked wild rice and fresh broccoli (and whatever other veggies you like; carrots or jalapenos are amazing!) and allow that to steam for about 5-10 minutes depending how crisp you like your veggies. Sprinkle a little cheese on top if you want to add some more filling power to the meal (I use organic pepper jack sometimes). Serve.

I added a picture of the end result below. Click on it for nutrition facts. It takes a little time but it’s so worth it! Enjoy! 🙂

IMG_0435

Leave a Reply

