The Recipe

Healthy Diet Recipe.

FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (2)

This is what I will be eating/drinking for the next 60 days! I decided to go with a smoothie recipe instead of a juice recipe like Joe Cross uses, mainly because I don’t want to spend a bunch of money on a juicer when I have a perfectly good blender already. Also, since I don’t need to lose more than 10-12 pounds I really don’t see the need to diet as extremely as he did. The fiber in this smoothie diet will be very good for my digestive tract and will help improve my overall health much more than just the juice would. I also included more ingredients in my recipe than Joe did in his in an effort to include more of a variety of nutrients. This recipe was based on about 2 solid weeks of research and I am proud to say it’s incredibly good for you! It will provide you with plenty of energy throughout the day and helps with preventing hunger cravings as well. You will get about 3 servings, one for each meal of the day (it filled my blender almost to the top which I then divided into 3 glasses).

All of the ingredients I was able to find at walmart except fresh pomegranate, which I guess is either not in season or not being sold at my location at the moment. I tried to look for pomegranate juice instead but I could not find one where pomegranate was the actual main ingredient. So for now I will be substituting it with some mango, strawberries, and pineapple. They also did not have fresh blueberries so I used frozen. They are not as healthy but better than nothing.

Add the following into your blender (be sure to rinse all fruits and veggies before use!)

1 granny smith apple, cored.

1 cup mixed dark greens. I got a big organic bin of it at Walmart and it contains the following: baby spinach, lolla rosa lettuce, green tango lettuce, red oak lettuce, green oak lettuce, red romaine lettuce, green romaine lettuce, red leaf lettuce, green leaf lettuce, tatsoi, mizuna, red chard, green chard, red mustard, green mustard, frisee, arugula, organic radicchio, and organic red kale.)

1/2 cup kale

1/2 cup broccoli

1 tbs fresh chopped cilantro

1 tbs fresh chopped parsley

1 tbs lemon juice

1 carrot (washed but not peeled as many nutrients lie within the skin)

1 banana

3 tbs plain lowfat organic greek yogurt

1/2 cup quinoa (cooked)

1 tbs of red wine

1 small piece dark chocolate or 1 tsp cocoa powder

1/8 cup blueberries

1-2 fresh strawberries

1 slice fresh pineapple

1/8 cup mango

1-2 cups filtered water as needed. You can use juice but it will add a lot of sugar to the recipe which is not very healthy and most juices are processed, reconstituted, add sugar, or do not use the intended fruit as the main ingredient and instead substitute with a cheaper alternative like apple juice.

5-6 almonds

1/4 cup 100% natural whole grain old fashioned oatmeal

I usually let the smoothie then chill in a glass in the freezer for 5-10 minutes because I like them nice and cold, but this is optional.

Leave a Reply

